Are You My Friend?

noob92isnton

It sure is hard to make friends in a MMO.

I’m not talking about the ones you only game with.

I’m talking about ones you can talk to when life is up or down.

A few years back a new member came into my guild. She was real nice and joined in raids right away. Even helped out lowbies.

She got along with everyone.

One day she asked if I could DPS in something. I told her that I really didn’t feel like playing today. Had girlfriend problems and I would have to log off soon.

She left the guild.

When the guild leader asked what happened, she said “there’s to much drama in this guild.”

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat!

Now I look like a jerk. πŸ˜›

You might have encountered this next example.

I have met many good people in game. Ones I thought were great friends. They came to me when they felt down, and they were always good listeners when I was having a ruff day. However as soon as they get bored with the game, they have this need to ditch everyone they know and play something else.

Long term relationships thrown under a train.

When the game isn’t that good and they come back, the relationship is already scared. Your guild does not really trust this guy anymore.

So he leaves the guild or the game.

I think this is the case with most competitive players. Even minor competitive players seem to poof away once they get the top gear they wanted.Β The mentality is to play the game and avoid as much social activity as possible.

So here are some of the things I do to try and keep good relationships with gamer buds.

I have found that if I talk to my gamer friends outside of game, they are more likely to stick around and say hi.

Get them on Skype, Yahoo Messenger, even emails.

This will not work with everyone. I think some just need to separate themselves from you so they don’t go back to a old game. As silly as that sounds, it just seems to happen that way.

If you have been gaming together for two – five years, you made a friend. I will not understand the mentality of cutting off all contact with someone suddenly after a long period of time.

Before any of you ask! No this has not happened to me recently. Just a random thought I had that I wanted to put into words. πŸ™‚

So have you totally lost contact with someone in game? Have you left someone with no warning and wish you could kick it with your bud again like you used to?

Contact them. More than likely they miss the good times you both had, and could possibly be in the game your playing.

In fact, they could be looking for you right now…

This entry was posted in Personal Rants and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are You My Friend?

  1. Tabatha says:

    Here’s my feedback: I used to play WoW, and actually got a few close friends from it. I was a GM with my Hubby and one of our group of friends and I did and address exchange, and mailed each other Christmas gifts, like a Secret Santa. One mailed us gifts when we were having our first child. 2 of the other group of friends actually came to visit us, we are in Ohio, 1 came from Indiana and 1 from Texas
    we still talk to all of them

  2. Mika Scaare says:

    Well I did ban some people who turned out to be sexist assholes because they couldn’t explain themselves immediately.

Leave a Reply

